Tag Archives: Jack

  • Jack White's Bluesy U2 Cover

    Jack White knew what he was doing when he took on "Love Is Blindness" as part of Q Magazine's 20th-anniversary tribute to U2's soon-to-be-reissued Achtung Baby. While the Irish arena rockers are probably best known for their windswept anthems, the Achtung Baby finale isn't too far from White's tastes in its original version: There's a "The House of the Rising Sun"-like chord progression, peals of organ, streaks of guitar fuzz, and a particularly emotion-wracked Bono vocal.

    For this cover, the White Stripes frontman goes back to the song's down-and-dirty blues-rock heritage, howling the pained lyrics as if he were on a lost Nuggets cut. Even better than the real thing? Have a listen to the BBC Radio 2-premiered track below — and forever banish that OMG-WTF Insane Clown Posse collabo from your brain cells (via Interference as first pointed out by Consequence of Sound).

    Jack White, "Love Is Blindness" (U2 Cover)

    The cover appears on Q's AHK-toong BAY-bi Covered tribute album, which also features Nine Inch Nails, Garbage, Depeche Mode, the Killers, Snow Patrol, and more. The tribute is available with copies of the magazine's next issue, hitting shelves on October 25th. Check out the track list below. In related news, U2's massive Achtung Baby reissue arrives on October 31st.

    AHK-toong BAY-bi Covered tracklist:

    1. Nine Inch Nails, "Zoo Station"

    2. U2, "Even Better Than The Real Thing (Jacques Lu Cont Mix)"

    3. Damien Rice, "One"

    4. Patti Smith, "Until The End Of The World"

    5. Garbage, "Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses"

    6. Depeche Mode, "So Cruel"

    7. Snow Patrol, "Mysterious Ways"

    8. The Fray, "Trying To Throw Your Arms Around The World"

    9. Gavin Friday, "The Fly"

    10. The Killers, "Ultraviolet (Light My Way)"

    11. Glasvegas, "Acrobat"

    12. Jack White, "Love Is Blindness"

    Article Source

    Bookmark and Share

  • Jack White Produces New Insane Clown Posse

    Jack White and ICP
    Jack White and Insane Clown Posse

    One word: Wow. Jack White is producing the new release from fellow Detroit natives Insane Clown Posse -- yes, the duo in face paint rapping about murdering people with hatchets -- and Nashville rockers JEFF the Brotherhood have joined the project as the backing band. Do collaborations get weirder than that?

    The record will be their interpretation of a lesser known Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart piece from 1782 called "Leck Mich Im Arsch," which is literally translated as "Lick me in the arse."

    According to a press release, the 2011 version of "Leck Mich Im Arsch" marries "Mozart's melody and lyrics sung in operatic German with ICP's poignant lyrical addition in English and Jeff the B's monster-riffs." The B-side of the single is "Mountain Girl," an original composition, which has ICP's Violent J and Shaggy 2 Dope dropping verses about country life -- shotgun weddings, meth addiction, and moonshine.

    The 7-inch single and iTunes download of "Leck Mich Im Arsch" will be available on September 13, and 100 tri-color vinyl copies of the single will be sold at the Third Man Rolling Record Store starting September 17 at the MI Fest in Brooklyn, Michigan, where the Raconteurs will be performing. Another 50 tri-color vinyls will be randomly inserted into mail orders dispatched by Third Man Records.

    White and ICP filmed a teaser video for the upcoming collaboration: "The music collaboration you've all been waiting for," it says. "230 years in the making." Watch below.

    Article Source

    Bookmark and Share

  • The Raconteurs Return, Chili Peppers' LP Art + More


  • The Raconteurs will regroup for their first show in two years this summer. Jack White's original White Stripes side project will perform at the inaugural MI Fest in Brooklyn, MI, on September 17. It's the group's only scheduled show this year. Tickets for the event — which also includes Sheryl Crow and the Romantics — go on sale July 8.
  • Madonna has hit the studio to start work on her 12th studio album. Her manager Guy Oseary said the pop star began recording on July 4. "Very exciting," he Tweeted. Rumors have swirled about potential collaborators: David Guetta and A-Trak are among the producers who are reportedly contributing songs.
  • Indie-pop group Cults have revealed that they're working on a hip-hop mixtape with MCs like Freddie Gibbs and Lil B, which will feature reworked tracks from their debut album. "We're changing all the songs up and getting up-and-coming rappers," said guitarist Brian Oblivion.
    "That's going to be really exciting."
  • RHCP

  • Alabama rap duo G-Side will release their second record Island on November 11. The disc is a quickly recorded follow-up to this year's The ONE…COHESIVE, which SPIN Magazine has already named as one of the best albums of 2011, so far.
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers have unveiled the cover for their comeback album I'm With You. British conceptual artist Damien Hirst designed the striking minimalist image, which shows a fly sitting atop a pink and white prescription pill. The record is due out August 30.
  • Original Article Source

    Bookmark and Share