Beach Boys To Release Reunion Tour DVD in November

Great news for all of the Beach Boys fans out there, especially the ones that weren’t able to catch the Southern California natives (they actually grew up the next town over from us here at PAL) during their 50th anniversary tour earlier this year.

That’s right, you knew it was coming, and now its official; the guys over at Blastmusic have now confirmed a November 20th release date for “The Beach Boys: Live in Concert – 50th Anniversary Tour” DVD.

"To document this once-in-a-lifetime moment in music history as The Beach Boys embarked on their 50th year anniversary world tour was an experience I still have not come down from,” said Marc Bennett, Co-Director of The Beach Boys 50- Live in Concert. “This show is a solidification of their legacy and a tribute to creative endurance and artistic achievement that crosses all cultural and geographical boundaries.”

Footage for the DVD was taken during their 75-date tour and is set to feature 21 of their classic tunes that span throughout their full career, including songs from their most recent album, That’s Why God Made the Radio.

“In spite of the obstacles they may have encountered over the years, they have reached this 50th year milestone as few bands have ever done, or even imagined,” added Bennett. “What they leave behind, as captured in this performance, is a body of work that is indelibly etched in music history and popular culture on a global level."

As far as the band members themselves go, they couldn’t be more thrilled as the DVD captures what might very well be their last tour, making the moments captured on film all the more poignant – a sentiment shared especially by lead songwriter Brian Wilson: “Performing with the guys again was an absolute thrill. I'm so glad we captured it on film so that everyone, whether you were there or not, will be able to see what an historic event it was."

You can pick up yourself a copy of the DVD when it hits stores next month but in the meantime, here are the songs Included in the DVD:

  • Do It Again
  • Catch A Wave
  • Hawaii
  • Marcella
  • Isn't It Time
  • Little Deuce Coupe
  • 409
  • Shut Down
  • I Get Around
  • Heroes And Villains
  • Sloop John B
  • Wouldn't It Be Nice
  • All This Is That
  • That's Why God Made The Radio
  • Sail On, Sailor
  • Good Vibrations
  • California Girls
  • Help Me Rhonda
  • Rock And Roll Music
  • Kokomo
  • Fun, Fun, Fun
Leave a Reply