Rush Receives Prestigious Canadian Award

From Left: Neal Peart, Geddy Lee, Alex Leifson

Long withstanding and overall rockin’ band Rush have been honored by the Canadian government once again as the classic trio are among the recipients of the 2012 “Governor General’s Performing Arts Award” for recognition of lifetime artistic achievement.

Winners receive a commemorative medallion made by the Royal Canadian Mint as well as $25,000 cash from the Canada Council for the Arts.

According to The Canadian Press, Rush members Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neal Peart were among the fellow laureates who attended an invitation to visit Canada’s House of Commons in order to witness the Members of Parliament (MP) bicker and debate, among other sacred duties held by the government officials.

"I don't know how anything gets decided," said Lee. "It's certainly nice to see the lively debate."

The celebration doesn’t stop there as Rush and other winners will be attending a gala show in their honor on Saturday at the National Arts Centre.

"This is quite different because, being recognized as part of a group of artists from the country that I was born in and raised in and still live in, is quite unique to me," Lee said. "To see the variety of other artists that are honored here today means that arts means something in this country and I support that wholeheartedly and it's quite an honor to be a part of it."

Along with this week’s honor, Rush has already received multiple recognitions in their homeland such as induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame (1994), the prestigious Order Of Canada (1996), Canada’s Walk of Fame (1999), Canadian Music Industry Hall of Fame (2003), and the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame (2010).




Original Source


Leave a Reply